Polska Pack – the one who does not remember…

DSC_0019

The second day in Poland we took a trip to visit Auschwitz II–Birkenau, the largest of the German concentration camps.  It was eye opening and tramatic and ______.  I feel as if I’m going to be at a loss for words during this entire post, so please be patient.

The things we saw were inhuman.  The living conditions, the pillaging, the plunder, the pictures, it was all quite a lot to take in.

Mike explained it well –

This place was an engineering marvel, and an almost perfect, efficient factory, and yet completely evil at its core, with no regard for humanity.  Without God, man is completely evil and can accomplish the most evil of things.

There were many things that will just remain burned into my minds eye as I could not, with good conscious, take pictures of all that we saw.  And yet I’m glad I was able to go.  As the quote says above- the one who does not remember history is bound to live through it again.  May it never be so.  This place opened my eyes to the hurt the people of Poland have been through and in some ways still endure.  It allowed me to see them as more than human, as image bearers of the one true God.

Here are just a few pictures I took from our experience. 

DSC_0006DSC_0037DSC_0077DSC_0128DSC_0118

Leave a Reply

