nacho cheese

imagenot cho cheese…. na choOOO cheeeese =)  Ok ok! I hear you… I love it too… but I digress from my intended intensions of today’s blog post.

Last night there was a ladies night hosted for the Honeymooners’ Sunday School class by the Koinonia ABF women.  While I love to be with friends and enjoy food fellowship, yesterday I was not in the mood to go at all.  In fact, I was a bit grumpy about going.  I was tempted to skip even though I RSVPed that I was attending.  But I went anyways with every intention of leaving early.

God had other plans.

I walked in, arms crossed.  I started to loosen up a bit.  A few minutes in Julie passed out “word matching” cards to each of us and told us to find our word match and that is who we would be eating dinner with.  They were all Mexican themed (like our dinner).  So taco went with salad; chips went with salsa… you get it (I hope).  I had cheese and this lovely lady comes up to me holding out her card that said NACHO.  So I nearly shouted out CHEESE!  Then we had a funny laugh about being not – cho – cheese.  I know! super corny =)

We got in line and started chatting along the lines of the provided “ice breaker questions”.

  1. What’s your name?
  2. Where did you get married and when?
  3. If you were to go out on a date night to an international restaurant, what ethnic food would you choose?

Arielle and I soon digressed from these provided questions and HIT IT OFF!  Come to find out, she’s recently married, moved from Ohio, went to school in Kentucky and would choose Mexican food (perfect!) and has never been to West Park (our church) but was just invited by a friend to attend this women’s night.  She needed some encouragement (as her husband had recently been out of work for a while) and she was new in town and adjusting to married life.  I needed some time to reflect on where God has brought us over our last few years and was able to encourage her with our story.  We had a blast chatting about college life, school, family, work place fun and married life. 

Recently, I wanted to tell one of the students I work with that when we are afraid to do something or refuse to do something outside of our comfort zone, we are selling God short of what He can do in our lives, whether that be overcoming a fear, being brave at school, having a good attitude at work or attending a women’s night when you don’t want to.  Boy was I eating my words last night.

I came away so blessed and encouraged, able to pray for her as she faces certain situations that I know all too well.  I came away with a renewed spirit, encouraged by a testimony of another lady that shared her marriage story.  I came away able to pray specifically for a few more friends.  I came away changed.

Gen 15:1  After this, the word of the LORD came to Abram in a vision: “Do not be afraid, Abram. I am your shield, your very great reward.”

Gen 50:20  You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives.

2 thoughts on “nacho cheese

  1. Just reading this today – but funny – Julie and I were having the same conversation yesterday. What a shame it would be to come to end of life, or ANY point in life and realize ALL you missed out on because you didn’t want to move out of your comfort zone or take the risk of looking awkward, or ya just didn’t want to do something. Worse yet, ALL you’ve missed out on watching God do in your life and through you because you did move contrary to how you were thinking or feeling. Great post and a great reminder. Odds are, I’ll need to remind myself of this again all too soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

