great day to be a duck

Lately the weather as been a bit dreary.  While we need the rain, the ground was starting to crack, I feel like I could use a bit of sun shine right now. 

On a completely separate note, we had an AWESOME dinner last night.  While I didn’t take any “final pictures” you get the idea from this one

Dinner

PS: I heart my new to me grill!!

We had potatoes and zucchini seasoned with Chili powder, thyme, salt and pepper and stuffed Salmon (feta, spinach and basil).  Oh my, yum!!  The cast iron griddle thingy worked fantastic and the fish turned out “fork tender.”  This was one of my few successful fish journeys =)

Dinner

My sous chef even came out to support my cooking endeavors.  I wish I caught the picture of her double drool that made it all the way to her legs and ended up wrapped around her head by the end of the night (of course some got on me too).

Here is the recipe I used as my guideline.  Hubs does not prefer tomatoes or onions, so I used some spinach instead.  I also replaced the lemon zest with just a drizzle of lemon juice.  It turned out delightful and was really really easy!

Stuffed Salmon “Barcelona”
Printable Recipe

  • 2 boneless, skinless salmon filets (7 oz each)
  • 1 1/2 oz feta cheese
  • 30gm sundried tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 large scallion, minced
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh basil
  • zest from 1/2 of a lemon

Preheat grill to medium heat. Mix together the feta cheese, sundried tomatoes, scallion, and basil. Carefully cut a pocket into the side of each filet and stuff each with half of the feta mixture. Season the salmon pieces with freshly ground salt & pepper, and sprinkle with lemon zest. Spray a grill basket (like this one) with nonstick cooking spray and carefully place the filets on the basket, then close and slide the lock in place. (Alternatively, you could cook the salmon in foil packets on the grill, or just bake them in the oven.) Place the basket on the grill and cook for 5 minutes on each side, or until cooked through and browned on the outside.
Nutritional Info:          Servings Per Recipe: 2         Amount Per Serving
Calories: 419.1       Total Fat: 18.6 g     Cholesterol: 61.1 mg   Sodium: 349.4 mg
Total Carbs: 8.9 g     Dietary Fiber: 3.4 g      Protein: 53.3 g

One thought on “great day to be a duck

Leave a Reply

